J’s Shrimp and Wonton Soup

I was working from home and craving wonton soup so I went to the fridge and the freezer to see what I could put together with a little creativity.

On top of chicken broth, mushrooms, green onions and soy sauce, I found a bag of leftover homemade veggie wontons in the freezer that I thought I’d toss in.  It wasn’t until I dished up a hot, steamy bowl, that I discovered I had accidentally added my goat cheese ravioli, which is also made with wonton wrappers.  The result was a wonderful, comforting soup that shouldn’t be shunned because of the addition of dairy to this soup.  There are no measurements here, just throw in what you have and experiment.  Let me know what you think!

  • Chicken Broth
  • 1-2 tsp light soy sauce
  • sliced mushrooms
  • sliced green onion
  • dash of ginger powder
  • cornstarch
  • Leftover Goat Cheese Ravioli
  • chopped shrimp (peeled and deveined)

Bring broth to a boil  and add soy sauce and wontons straight from the freezer.  Bring to a rolling boil for 3-4 minutes, add veggies and ginger and reduce heat. Stir some cornstarch into a little cold water until dissolved and add to pot.  Add shrimp and simmer for 4 minutes. Serve hot.

Leave a Reply

